Woman are Like Tea Bags

Recently I heard a quote in a movie and it stuck in my head. “Women are like tea bags. You never know how strong they are until you put them in hot water.” Two things sparked my interest. The first thing was comparing woman to tea bags. Tea is such an elegant drink that has so many variations, some very similar and some completely unalike. It can be dark or light, sweet or bitter, hot or cold, strong or weak, and any mix of thesetea. Sitting down with a nice cup of tea is always so relaxing, you can easily get lost. For some reason, it puts you in a state of mind that everything is going to be okay even if it is just for those few moments. I think overall, that fits woman very well. The second thing I liked about this quote was the appreciation of a woman’s strength. Women are commonly undermined as a gender. For many reasons, you many never see the strength that a woman has, but give a woman any difficult situation, and the inner strength prevails. Now more than ever, woman are unleashing what they are made of and it is beautiful. As a woman, I get very offended when somebody, male or female, makes a sexist comment. I am usually then asked, “why does that offend you?” which makes me want to ramble on for hours to “prove” my disgust. Simplest answer: I am too damn proud to let anybody undermine me because I do not have a penis. There, I said it. Sexism, like any other stereotyping, makes an individual look extremely uneducated (in my opinion). Honestly, it pisses me off to know that somebody can think so simple-mindedly. But I am learning to channel that anger into motivation because I want nothing more than to be an extremely successful and happy person (not woman…). I hope to be able to empower woman to let the world see their inner strength. Because at the end of the day, we are more than a cup of tea. 

Leave a Reply

