My New Found Princess

Every equestrian has their preference of horses including breeds, colors, markings, size, and gender. Personally, I have always been a big, chestnut, thoroughbred gelding kind of person. The key word in that last sentence is gelding. Mares and I have never gotten along well. Mainly because I was never a fan of the whole bouncy, feisty, mare-ish attitudes.

Image

Her name is Tango. She is a bay, mustang pony. I first rode her about a year ago in the spring semester of my sophomore year, and we did not get along in the least bit. She was fast and feisty and we did not communicate at all. In my opinion, communication is the most important aspect of riding horses. Contrary to popular belief, it is a team effort, between the horse and the rider. Without communication, the team will inevitably fail.

Approximately six months ago, in the fall semester of my junior year, I started riding Tango again. Obviously I was hesitant at first since I was not really a fan of hers. One day, after riding her quite often, we clicked and I fell in love. Now we work extremely well together and I look forward to every minute I get to spend with her.

Unfortunately the origin of the word “tango” has been lost in history. Although the origin is unknown, “The Tango” is very well known. The tango is a partner dance, meaning it involves teamwork and communication. I love Tango’s name for this reason and also because it describes our relationship.  Our relationship was horrible at first because we did not tango together. After working at it, from both ends, we work much better as a team.

So why am I randomly writing about this random pony at my college’s barn? I have been missing Tango recently (…yes I am that person). I was finally able to ride her today for the first time in too long. She was so feisty the whole lesson and I realized something. I love when she is feisty! I smile constantly when she is that mood because it is just so damn cute. In the past, I would have hated that mood! So the real lesson I received today is that I have truly grown as a rider, but also as a person.

After our spunky lesson together, I spent almost two hours brushing Tango’s beautiful, thick tail and cuddling her up. Today I tweeted, “If you have never kissed a horse on the nose, you haven’t lived” and I will stand by that statement no matter what. Being in the presence of a horse that is special to you, kissing their nose and talking to them, is all you need to make you glow.

It was a perfect day with my new found princess.

2 thoughts on “My New Found Princess

  1. Pingback: Sunday’s Taste of Euphoria | The Overwhelmed Undergrad

  2. Pingback: Sunday’s Tase of Euphoria (#3) | The Overwhelmed Undergrad

Leave a Reply

