Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years

Image

There are many different reactions when the word “age” is brought up in conversation. A twenty-one year old will proudly proclaim their age and the fact that they can legally drink, but a thirty year old will cringe at the thought of discussing it. What changes in those nine short years of a person’s lifetime that causes them to react so differently? Well, I cannot completely answer this question because I just turned twenty-one a little over a month ago and I have not personally gone through this nine-year “change”. I fear that the answer to this question is people often grow up and loose a part of themselves. Why is it mandatory to act a certain way and do certain things when you reach a specific age point? I fear that too many people get to this point in life and forget how to live. People start separating their laundry into different colors, only drink one glass of wine when their friends come over, never sleep till noon or binge watch Netflix on a day off, stop spending that stupid $4.00 on a Dunkin Donuts coffee once in awhile, and don’t find time to stop and smell the roses. Why does this happen? 

ImageOne thing I know for sure is the idea of “getting older” is scary. On my twenty-first birthday I realized something… You wait and wait and wait to be legal, then that glorious day comes and before you know it, it is over. I looked back at everything up until that point and couldn’t believe that I was old enough to order a drink at a bar. That idea alone was terrifying. Last time I checked, I was moving away from home to a new state to start my freshman year of college. Now I am almost a senior and people keep asking me what I am going to do when I graduate college (I still can’t really answer that). Don’t get me wrong, being twenty-one has it’s perks, but it also means that I am truly an adult. I am expected to answer all of those difficult questions and have a plan for the rest of my life. Well, sometimes you just have to go with the flow.

A huge challenge for me with “getting older” is I always feel like I don’t have enough time, which seems to be a common theme in most people’s lives. There are never enough hours in the day to attend class and work, studying, go to the gym and barn, hangout with friends, eat, etc. Every day I battle the clock in my never-ending list of things to do. Every Monday I can’t wait for the weekend and then it is Sunday night before I can even blink. I planned my Spring Break months ago and it is over in two days. Life flies by.

Honestly, age is so much more than just a number. A twelve year old could really be nineteen and a forty year old could really be twelve. Age is more than just the amount of years someone has lived. It is shown through maturity, wisdom, kindness, experiences, etc. My goal in life is to never age. I always try to live every day to the fullest. I hope to travel anywhere and everywhere, helping people and animals along the way. If you allow yourself to age before your time, you miss out on all of the opportunities life has to offer.

Image

 

My Response to WordPress’ Daily Challenge: Golden Years ( http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/weekly-writing-challenge-golden-years/ )

2 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years

Leave a Reply

