Daily Prompt: In the Summertime

Usually I don’t like posting twice in one day, but I kind of needed to partake in this Daily Prompt because I am way too excited for summer.

tumblr_n3mw5tCk9g1ttpbjko1_500.gif

I just want to point out that there are 18 days of class let in this semester. And then I will officially be senior. This is amazing yet so unbelievably terrifying.

The main reason I am anticipating summer is because I am a junior in college, meaning I have been applying to summer internships since January. This process has been tedious and extremely stressful. I am applying for internships in the wildlife conservation field because following graduation I intend to start a Masters program in that area of study. Also, the internships I have been applying for are all over the United States. Since I love traveling, I figured I could see a new place while doing my internship. So, I can’t wait to find out what internships I am accepted to and where I will be traveling to this summer! Mainly because I am sick of worrying about what I am doing, but also because I am so excited to have this new experience!

Besides the “real” or “practical” reason I am looking forward summer, I am also excited about a lot of other things. In the summertime, it is important to relax and that is always my goal. These are more of the “typical college student summer activities” that I always look forward to:

In the summertime, I get to spend time with my family. Being away from home has its perks of course, but I love the family time (dog and cats included) I get over break. We always have a great time, whether it is at the beach, or going for a walk, or cooking on the grill… nothing replaces family time. In the summertime, I get to spend time with my friends at home because being away from them sucks. It is as simple as that. In the summertime, I get to sleep whenever I want, besides work and all that. People always say that you will grow out of sleeping in. I disagree completely. In the summertime, I get to enjoy the beautiful weather that allows me to take my dog for walks, tan, and swim. Of course, that is what summer is all about. Last but not least, in the summertime, I am always excited to read books that I actually want to read. I know, nerd… But I love reading and I miss it so much during the school year.

I guess most of these things are simple, but I have learned that when you get to go home for breaks, the little things are truly the most important.

tumblr_n3mx9fNNA41rz6n7wo1_500

Hopefully 2014 is everything I am imagining it will be!

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: In the Summertime

  1. Pingback: A matter of degrees | Mindful Digressions

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: A Hangover Too Long | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: Daily prompt: Summer | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: Summer is around the corner and I am looking forward to… | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Leave a Reply

