May the Odds Be Ever In Your Favor

Every college student has their own way of surviving finals. Sometimes our ways may be not-so-healthy, but it is only for a week or two, right? I have survived college final exam week 5 times (ew) and I am now entering into my 6th time. I wanted to share some of the things I do, stupid or not, to help me get through all of the studying.

 

ONE// Rewriting Notes

In my opinion, this is the easiest and most effective way of studying. Repetition is key.

pandora

TWO// Music

I have to listen to music, especially during those 6 hour cram sessions. Even if it is just low, background noise, it helps keep me “less bored”. Pandora is literally my bestfriend. If you don’t listen to Pandora while studying, you should. My favorite stations are ‘NSync Radio and Glee Cast Radio.

coffee

THREE// Snacks, Drinks, and Gum

Again, this helps keep me “less bored”. My go-to studying snack is chips, I know, unhealthy, but at this point in the semester I don’t care. Coffee, water and Gatorade are my typical study drinks. I would drink coffee endlessly if I could, but I prefer to not be dehydrated while I’m trying to learn stuff. Last, gum. It is self-explanatory but I just love gum.

FOUR// Drawing on White Boards

I get really tired of writing notes in notebooks or on my computer. Being a Biology major, I always have a lot of pictures, graphs, and biological cycles to remember. I draw them really big on white boards, in different colors, to help me go over and remember them.

Unknown

FIVE// Push-up and Burpee Breaks

A few years ago my friend started doing push-ups in the middle of our study session and told me that it really wakes you up and helps you focus. I didn’t believe her at first, but ever since then I do this all the time. It is good to get up, stretch, walk around, and maybe do some push-ups or jumping jacks. It gets your blood racing and gives you a little adrenaline push.

SIX// Group Sessions

My friends and I always get together to study. Even if we don’t say a word to each other for hours, it is nice to have company.

digital-rainbow-color-creative-hd-wallpaper

SEVEN// Color

I love making things colorful. I highlight everything in different colors, color in pictures, use colored notecards, etc. I can’t just look at white paper and black pen for hours on end. Eventually, it all meshes together and just no.

EIGHT// Goodbye Cell Phone

This is the hardest one, but I try to put my phone on silent. Even if I don’t touch it for a half an hour, that’s better than getting distracted every minute.

finals-hunger-games

 Hopefully this gave you some easy and maybe stupid ideas to make all of that studying just a little more bearable! Happy finals everyone!

2 thoughts on “May the Odds Be Ever In Your Favor

Leave a Reply

