National Women’s Health Week

NWHW-logo

For those of you who don’t know, this week is National Women’s Health Week. I think it is interesting to look up special days, weeks, or months like this that everybody doesn’t necessarily know about. I was happy to stumble upon this yesterday for many reasons. For starters,I love that I am a woman, I love embracing other women, and I am an up-and-coming “healthy living” person. Here is my path, which I am still at the start of, to being a healthier woman.

Two years ago, you would have never seen me in a gym. If, and I mean IF, I was in a gym, it is likely that I was not having a great time. I guess this makes sense. I could eat whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted, and there were no consequences. I participated in the sports I enjoyed and that was all I cared about. Now that I have entered into my twenties, this isn’t the case. Last year I started going to the gym on and off with some friends, but it eventually phased out. Once school let out, I got back into it throughout the summer, but still nothing crazy or consistent. In October 2013, I started going to the gym and realized how great I felt after. Slowly this evolved into a slight addiction and I love it. I have found that getting into shape and being healthy is easier and more fun with the support and motivation from others. I think that telling your story may only be significant to one person, and that makes it important.

Eating healthy is something I am still working on. I still like to eat what I want when I want, but I think about eating balanced meals now. There is a good chance that I will never stop eating junk food. I love junk food and that’s that.

National Women’s Health Week is about motivation. Specifically motivating woman to eat healthy, exercise, pay attention to their mental health, and get regular check ups. All of these things are important. Pass this simple information along to any family member or friend and be there for one another. Take the pledge here.


Embrace your gender. Embrace yourself. Embrace your health.

3 thoughts on “National Women’s Health Week

Leave a Reply

