“14 Things for the Next 14 Months” Follow-Up

On March 16th I posted a list of fourteen things I wanted to do before I graduated college (fourteen months left at that time). You can read that list here. Now, two months later, I am twelve months away from graduation and I wanted to share the things that I have started or completed on my list.

14 Things 2 months

1. Summer 2014 Internship (In Progress)

After applying to approximately 14 internships (yes that number doubled since the original post because I found more) I am doing an internship close to my school at a wildlife rehabilitation and care center. I applied to internships all over the country that would have been amazing. I was denied for a few and never heard back from some others. I learned that this process is tedious and stressful. Although I did not get some of the really cool internships I found, I am so excited to work with the orphaned wildlife at the center I decided on. Don’t worry, I will write about my experiences and post a lot of pictures!

2. Sign a Lease (Completed)

My bestfriend and I signed a lease for our apartment a few days before May 1st. We have been talking about getting an apartment together since our freshman year and we are more than excited that the time has finally come!

3. Learn to Cook (In Progress)

Slowly but surely I will learn to cook. This is going to take me all year because clearly, you can’t learn over night. I can say that I have been taking the initiative to learn from others recently, so that is the first step in the right direction.

4. Read More (In Progress/Complete)

I wasn’t sure if this was in progress or complete because I have been making way more time to read, but I am also going to try to continue to do so. Especially that it is officially summer, I am really making an effort to make any amount of time each day to read a little.

5. Write More (In Progress)

I have definitely been trying to write and/or post more! I have started using a calendar to plan my posts for this blog. More importantly, I have been trying to gather ideas that pop into my head. Hopefully they will turn into some good posts, stories, books, etc.

6. Win My First Election (Completed)

I ran for Senior Class President 2014-2015 and I won!!! I can’t believe it. I am so unbelievably grateful for this opportunity.

7. Volunteer

I used to volunteer occasionally at various horse farms and animal shelters. Helping animals is the most rewarding experience (obviously considering that is what I plan to devote my life to). I want to make time to do this again.

8. Improve My Horseback Riding (In Progress)

This will continuously be on my list. Most likely for the rest of my life. You can never be too good at your sport.

9. Continue Getting In Shape (In Progress)

I think this is the one I am most proud of. For the most part, I have stuck with this! The last few weeks of the semester were crazy so getting to the gym as much as I wanted to was basically impossible. Now that it is summer, I have been making it to the gym almost everyday. I love it.

10. Pay Off My Car

This is self-explanatory. I traded in my first car, a 2004 Jeep Liberty, to get a 2012 Chevy Cruze. Being a semi-environmental freak, I wanted a car with better gas mileage, especially since I drive back and forth to school. I love my car, but I am over the payments so I want my loan to be paid off by graduation.

11. Save Money

Again, this is self-explanatory. Currently, all of my money goes to my car and basically useless stuff (food, gas, alcohol, etc.). I really want to start building up some savings again.

12. Stop Being Late to Everything

I am constantly running in every direction. As much as I try to be a “professional”, I am late for everything. Literally everything. This needs to change before I have to grow up and get a real job. What better time to improve on something than the present?

13. Graduate With Honors

I guess this is self-explanatory. I like getting good grades and having a good GPA so I want to maintain that and graduate with honors. *Nerd Alert*

14. Have Fun (In Progress)

Save the best for last. I consider myself a hard worker, others say too hard, and I really don’t leave enough “me time”. As cliché as it sounds, I want to have an unforgettable senior year surrounded by my bestfriends that have been by my side since the beginning of college.

The results are in. After the first two months I have completed two things on my list and started seven. Not too shabby considering I still have twelve months to go! Follow along, I will continue to post updates for this list until graduation!

3 thoughts on ““14 Things for the Next 14 Months” Follow-Up

  1. congrats on being president and on your apartment!
    i love this post. i have this thing that i get motivated if i have to cross things out of my list. I bet it also helps you out.
    i hope to come back soon to your blog and see that you conquered more of your goals!
    xoxo
    Orly
    coffeebeansandhighheels.weebly.com

  2. Pingback: Random Things › “<b>14 Things</b> for the Next 14 Months” Follow-Up | The Overwhelmed <b>…</b>

Leave a Reply

