Behind the Scenes

coffee-cup-latte-milk

Last week I was tagged by Jenna at Big Dreams Grand Schemes in a blog post that explains her writing process. The purpose of this post is to share your individual writing process and tag three people at the end, creating a chain. I think this is so cool! It is always great to learn from one another, and this is a simple thing to explain to others. Here are the four questions that I have to answer:

  1. What am I working on?
  2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?
  3. Why do I write what I do?
  4. How does my writing process work?

The three bloggers I would like to tag in this train are:

  1. Emily at Class and Sass
  2. Nasya at Turquoise and Tortoiseshells
  3. Megan at The Artistic Brunette

Without further ado, here are my answers to the four questions!

1. What am I working on?

At this point of my blogging career, I am basically all over the place. In an attempt to become a little more organized, I started a calendar for my blog, but I don’t follow it to the tee yet. It is hard for me to plan what I am going to want to post sometimes, because a lot of my posts are random stories or ideas that I come up with. I constantly write down random things. Sometimes they turn into a story, list, or any other blog post, and sometimes they get saved in the “Blog” folder on my computer and stay there. My hope for the summer is to get my blog more organized and finish some of my unfinished posts so I can share them. That is what I’m working on right now.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

This is a tough question for me because I don’t really have a genre. I write and post whatever I want, whenever I want. The only “genre” I believe I fit into is Lifestyle or College (does that count?). My blog was created as an outlet, so I post whatever makes me happy. If I make other people happy along the way, well then I am even happier.

3. Why do I write what I do?

The main purpose of my writing is to escape. It has become a stress relief for me. I enter into my little bubble and roll with it. Therefore, I write things that interest me. Whether it be a story from my crazy life as a college student, my favorite Netflix shows at the moment, or an exciting purchase that I make, each post was a tool for me.

4. How does my writing process work?

First, I have an idea. Let me tell you, I have approximately fifty ideas a day and clearly, I do not post that much. A lot of my ideas are silly and short lived. Some of my ideas are for books that I dream about writing one day. Finally, some of my ideas become blog posts.

Once I decide I want to elaborate on an idea, I write. It’s as simple as that. I write, delete, and rewrite way too much, but I write. Also, I research. I read articles about various topics, books, short stories, other bloggers posts, etc. As an inspiring scientist, I am a firm believer that research and practice pave the way to improvement. Hopefully it is working!

Thanks for including me in this train! I am excited to read more posts from the tags!

Leave a Reply

