The Fault in Our Stars Review

tfios-559x247

It is always believed that movies based on books ruin the book itself. At the end of this past semester, I sat in my bed crying as I read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I wanted to read the book before the movie came out, just to be clear which was better. To say the least, it was written so perfectly. I read it with ease and fell in love with all of the characters and their stories. I loved all of the witty quotes, metaphors, foreshadowing, and various other literary techniques used. More importantly, I loved the love story and I loved that it didn’t mask the rest of the story.

The movie had me in tears as well.Unfortunately there were a few younger girls being quite obnoxious behind me. Yes they kiss, let’s move forward now. Anyways. I think everything was portrayed so perfectly. Even many of the important lines from the book were said, which I thought made everything come together. The cast was amazing. Of course, the book was better than the movie. That is how the cookie crumbles, but I will not say that it ruined the book because it did not whatsoever.

tumblr_n0wgu4K9GG1tp8hm0o2_500

I don’t want to talk about the book or the story in detail for a few reasons:

  1. I will so easily give away everything. The book is simple yet so complex. The characters tell everything they need to without it being written exactly.
  2. I feel as though I will ruin the romance of the story. It is so beautiful that it becomes heart aching.
  3. I want to tell you there is a happy ending, because there is. Although many people won’t see it that way. In my opinion, you have to look deeper to understand the lessons that were learned. To understand how much the characters helped one another to grow. To understand what love is. To understand what loss is. To understand that life doesn’t always goes on, but it does.

images

If you want to see something beautiful, go watch the movie. If you want to feel something beautiful, read the book. Either way, your heart will ache for these characters, and you will appreciate life in different ways than you have before.

9 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars Review

    • I think the book might have been less intriguing if I would have seen the movie first. Just because they are so similar… Either way, they are both amazing!

  1. I have been debating whether or not to read the book, both of my sisters have read it and seen the movie and keep telling me to read and I think after reading this I will now!

Leave a Reply

