Sunday’s Taste of Euphoria: Father’s Day Edition

Every week (mostly) I blog about the things that made me happy throughout the past week. This started as a weekly self-reflection post. Being a busy college student, I try to always remember all of the things make me happy in the midst of the craziness. Also, I hoped that it might inspire others to do the same. In light of today’s national holiday, Father’s Day, I thought I would talk about a man who has made me happy for as long as I can remember. Yes, my dad.

309046_296464530378938_1172109525_n

In a lot of ways, I had a difficult childhood. In a lot of ways, I had a wonderful childhood. I guess it depends what side of the picture you want to look at. No matter what side, my father will be there. He made the good times great, and the horrific times bearable. He laid out all of the pieces for success, and put together all of the broken ones. He was there for every sport event, supporting me no matter what. I want to snowboard? He helped me get season passes to the local mountain, drove me to and from and sometimes joined, and took the family on numerous trips to Vermont to ski and snowboard. I want to ride horses? He supported me through it all, mentally and financially (we all know this is quite an expensive sport). Even after multiple ER trips, surgeries, orthopedic doctor appointments, etc. He was there for the heartbreaks and the triumphs. He was there for the bad grades and the good grades. He was there to move me into college and move me out (I guess he wanted me to come home for the summer?!). He was there for the everything.

1483_54354637712_9400_n

High School Homecoming

Through the years I continuously see more and more similarities between myself and my dad. I will admit that I have his temper, but there are so many good things I got from him. He looks and acts so tough, but he has a giant heart. He is strong willed and determined and when he has his mind set on something, don’t try to stand in his way. He constantly tries to learn new things, recently having to do with guns or green living. He is so unbelievable generous and loves helping people. Most importantly, he might not always say a lot, sometimes because he might not know exactly what to say, but you know he cares with everything he has.

248951_10150218665937713_6897177_n

High School Graduation

My dad is famous for his unique sayings and there are a lot of them. Friends and family have caught on and use them constantly. Wash is actually pronounced “warsh”. He tries to be optimistic by saying “even a blind squirrel gets a nut sometimes”. If he thinks something was a waste of his time he will say it was “for not”. To try to remember things he always has them “wrote down”. Last but not least, one of the all time favorites, when it gets chilly outside he might say “frost on the punkin, time for dicky dunkin”. Yes that is pronounced “puNkin” not puMkin, for future reference. If anyone chuckles or makes fun of how he talks or any of his sayings, he will proudly say, “it’s okay, I have big shoulders” and “I’m glad I bring so much humor to your life”.

321019_10150287511517713_4639846_n

Saying Goodbye Freshman Year of College

If I had to describe my dad simply, I would say he is one of a kind and nothing short of amazing.

I am so lucky to have him in my life. I love you dad! Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

