Love is Love

LOVE-IS-LOVE-love-29683854-1004-468

Today, I saw my chiropractor whom I haven’t seen in awhile. We had our usual, “what’s going on, how’s school, how is your ankle, and what’s going on with you back” talk, which led to the infamous, “so, do you have a boyfriend” question. I said no, I have a girlfriend though! Although surprised, he didn’t even second guess it. “That’s great! How long have you guys been together?” And the conversation went on. Where did you meet, are you happy, what happens after graduation, etc. He even apologized for not knowing that I liked girls because he felt bad for assuming I was straight (jaw drop). As I was leaving he hugged me and said, “the world is going to love you for who you are, because you are an amazing person”. Such kind words, itย touched my heart.

Not only is it nice to have somebody tell you that you are an amazing person, but it was even better in this context. He wanted me to know that my sexual orientation did not determine what kind of person I am. Which it never should. Gay, straight, bisexual, transgender, what have you, none of that determines the kind of person you are. I know gay people who are complete assholes. Guess what? I know straight people who are complete assholes as well. Just like I know black people who have been arrested, and I know what people who have been arrested. These stereotypes, whether race, gender, or sexual orientation, are truly outdated and ignorant.

He also told me something else. “Love is love.” This quote is in the description of my Instagram, so I was very excited to hear him say it. He said that he told his three sons the same thing, love is love, and he would love them no matter what. I told him what I always say when people say these things to me: “Thank you for feeling that way. I wish more people did.” You know what he told me? That he has seen people change as he has gotten older. People are less judgmental. People are more accepting. And it is only going to get better. What a beautifully optimistic viewpoint he has. I realized that sometimes I am pessimistic about it, but he is completely right. Although there is still room for improvements, things keep getting better for the LGBT community.

10703863_10152617946512713_3600739443655033310_n

Who would have thought that he would have opened my mind even more? Well, like I said, there is still room for improvement. Same rule applies to myself, and I will keep improving.

Leave a Reply

